The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou

Eleni Kyriacou

Publishing Soon: 9th November 2023

They say she’s a murderer. She says nothing. London, 1954.

Eva Georgiou has just returned from her shift at the glamorous Cafe de Paris, when she’s summoned to her second job: Greek interpreter for the Metropolitan Police. There, she is tasked with representing Zina Pavlou, a Cypriot woman who has been accused of the brutal murder of her daughter-in-law who has been bludgeoned, strangled and then set alight. Eva gets to work as Zina’s translator, but her concern grows that the case may be more complicated than it seems. Then Zina changes everything when she reveals she’s been accused of murder once before, years ago in Cyprus. While Eva’s obsession with the case deepens, so does her bond with Zina. And soon she will discover that when you lend your voice to an accused murderer, it comes at a devastating cost.

A compelling historical crime novel set in the Greek diaspora of 1950s London – that’s inspired by a true story – The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou is perfect for fans of Sara Collins, Eve Chase and Jessie Burton. Praise for The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou: ‘A brilliantly crafted story of two women… and an absolute page-turner.’ Louise Hare ‘A masterclass on writing character – Zina and Eva will stay with me a long, long time.’ Louise Fein ‘A gripping true-crime drama… Kyriacou’s complex, perceptive and moving narrative brings these devastating events vividly to life.’ Philippa East ‘Prepare to become obsessed with Zina Pavlou!’ Louise Mumford ‘You know those books where you read a bit and then you have to stop to do life stuff but the characters are still in your head and you can’t wait to get back to it? This is one of those.’ Frances Quinn ‘Storytelling of the highest order… Really powerful.’ Leonora Nattrass ‘Eleni Kyriacou is a writer of immense talent… A captivating and important story written by an author at the top of her game.’ Victoria Dowd ‘Glamour and grime in perfect proportion to produce a gripping thriller.’ Trevor Wood

More about this author

Menu